​This site uses cookies. By continuing, you consent to the placement of cookies on your computer or device.
Twitter - opens in a new window Facebook - opens in a new window YouTube - opens in a new window Email - opens in an email client RSS Feeds - opens in a new window

Doctoral Training Partnerships

​From 2014, the AHRC has directed the majority of its postgraduate funding into Doctoral Training Partnerships (DTPs). DTPs are block grant awards made to either individual Research Organisations (ROs), or consortia of ROs, to support postgraduate studentships across the breadth of the AHRC’s subject remit. DTPs provide innovative training environments for doctoral level research, with the opportunity for PhD students to undertake broader training or development opportunities, such as language learning, overseas research visits, or placements with non-academic partners. DTP awards were made for five cohorts of students in the 2014/15 academic year.

The studentship places will be advertised by the DTP on an annual basis, and studentships will be awarded on open competition.  AHRC plays no part in the assessment and selection of students.  If you are a student, you need to contact the DTP directly to find out about their selection process. 

List of contacts for all DTP and CDT consortia (Excel, 31KB opens in new window). Please note that this is not a comprehensive list of all partners involved in the consortia.

Any amendments to the list should be emailed to Jenny Gordon j.gordon@ahrc.ac.uk

AHRC Doctoral Programme Scotland

Led by the University of Glasgow (opens in new window) in collaboration with University of Aberdeen, University of Dundee, University of Edinburgh, University of St Andrews, University of Stirling, University of  Strathclyde and Glasgow School of Art in partnership with 30 organisations, including:

  • Aberdeen Art Galleries and Museums

  • Arts & Business Scotland

  • BBC Scotland

  • Dundee Repertory Theatre

  • Edinburgh International Book Festival

  • Edinburgh International Festival

  • Glasgow Chamber of Commerce

  • National Galleries Scotland

  • National Library Scotland

  • National Museums Scotland

  • National Theatre Scotland

  • Oxfam Scotland

  • Police Scotland

  • Royal Scottish National Orchestra

  • Scottish Opera 

Cambridge Doctoral Training Partnership

Led by the University of Cambridge (opens in new window) in partnership with:

  • Norfolk Museums and Archive Service

  • Collections Trust

  • Social Media Knowledge Exchange project

  • Arts Council

Consortium for Humanities and the Arts South-East England (CHASE)

Led by the University of Sussex (opens in window) in collaboration with The Courtauld Institute of Art, University of East Anglia (opens in new window), University of Essex (opens in new window), The Open University (opens in new window), University of Kent (opens in new window) and Goldsmiths, University of London (opens in new window), University of London in partnership with:

  • Intel

  • British University Film and Video Council

  • British Library

  • V&A

  • National Portrait Gallery

  • Canterbury Cathedral

  • Tate

  • BFI

  • BBC

  • The National Archives at Kew


London Arts & Humanities Partnership

Led by University College London (opens in new window) in collaboration with King’s College London  and School of Advanced Study, University of London  in partnership with:

  • National Gallery

  • BFI

  • Southbank Centre

  • Barbican Centre

  • V&A

  • National Theatre

  • Museum of London

  • Lambeth Palace Library

  • Tate Research

  • CreativeWorks

  • AM Heath

  • Routledge 

North West Consortium

Led by The University of Manchester (opens in new window) in collaboration with Keele University, Lancaster University, Manchester Metropolitan University, Royal Northern College of Music, University of Liverpool and University of Salford in partnership with:

  • BBC

  • Foundation for Art and Creative Technology (FACT)

  • FutureEverything

  • Home

  • Museum of Science and Industry (MOSI)

  • Opera North

  • Tate Liverpool

  • Staffordshire and Stoke on Trent Archives & Heritage Service

Northern Bridge Doctoral Partnership

Led by Newcastle University (opens in new window) in collaboration with University of Durham and the Queen’s University of Belfast in partnership with:

  • Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art

  • BBC Northern Ireland

  • Belfast City Council

  • Department of Culture, Arts and Leisure NI

  • Durham Cathedral

  • National Media Museum

  • New Writing North

  • Newcastle City Council

  • Seven Stories: National Centre for Children’s Books

  • The Bowes Museum

  • The Sage Gateshead

  • Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums

  • Wordsworth Trust

South, West and Wales Consortium: Ground-breaking research training in the Arts and Humanities

The SWWC (opens in new window) is led by University of Bristol (opens in new window) in collaboration with Cardiff University, University of Exeter, Aberystwyth University and University of Bath, Bath Spa University, University of Reading and University of Southampton in partnership with:

  • Arnolfini Contemporary Art Gallery

  • English Heritage

  • National Trust

  • BBC Drama (Cardiff)

  • BBC Factual (Bristol)

  • Watershed & Pervasive Media Studio

  • Bristol City Council & Mayoralty

  • Cadw

  • CyMal (Museums, Archives and Libraries Wales)

  • National Library of Wales

  • National Museum of Wales

  • Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales

  • Welsh National Opera

  • Centre for British Studies, Humboldt Universität, Berlin

  • Kyoto University’s Graduate Schools of Letters and Institute for Research in Humanities

  • University of Texas at Austin

  • Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing, Arizona State University

  • Record Offices (SW&W regions)

The London and South-East Doctoral Research Consortium (TECHNE)

Led by Royal Holloway, University of London (opens in new window), University of  London in collaboration with University of Brighton, Kingston University, University of Roehampton, Royal College of Art, University of Surrey and University of the Arts London in partnership with:

  • V&A

  • Museum of London

  • Natural History Museum

  • Science Museum

  • National Maritime Museum

  • Barbican Centre

  • Rose Theatre

  • BFI

  • Brighton Festival and Dome

  • Cultural Capital Exchange

  • Drawing Room

  • English PEN

  • Wired Sussex

The Midlands Three Cities Consortium 

Led by the University of Nottingham (opens in new window) in collaboration with Birmingham City University, De Montfort University, Nottingham Trent University, the University of Birmingham, and the University of Leicester in partnership with:

  • Central Conservatory for Music (Beijing)

  • BFI

  • British Museum

  • Cinema Museum

  • National Army Museum

  • Broadway Media Centre

  • Creative Hinkley

  • Creative Leicester

  • City Museum Services (Birmingham. Leicester, Nottingham)

  • Derbyshire County Coucil

  • Leicestershire County Council

  • Leicester Curve

  • Nottingham Contemporary

  • Phoenix Square, Leicester

The White Rose College of the Arts & Humanities (WRoCAH)

Led by the University of York (opens in new window) in collaboration with the University of Leeds and the University of Sheffield in partnership with

  • British Library

  • National Railway Museum

  • Royal Armouries

  • V&A

  • Arts Council

  • English Heritage

  • CidaCo

  • Continuum

  • Marks & Spencer

  • Microsoft

  • Maney Publishing

  • Opera North

  • Carm Productions and Strategy

  • Reel Solutions

  • Sheffield Health & Social Care NHS Foundation Trust

  • Young Foundation

University of Oxford AHRC

Led by the University of Oxford